Wolverhampton Sports Awards 2015


Sportsmen and women from across the city honoured at annual awards ceremony

Outstanding contributions by the city’s sportsmen and women were recognised at a special presentation hosted by the Mayor of Wolverhampton, Councillor Ian Brookfield.

Wolverhampton City Sports Advisory Council’s annual awards recognised the efforts of athletes, coaches, officials and administrators from clubs across Wolverhampton.

Sports Advisory Council Chairman Peter Holmes MBE said: “The awards recognise outstanding contributions to those sports represented on the Wolverhampton City Sports Advisory Council, and once again we heard some very inspiring stories from Wolverhampton’s sporting community.”

During the evening, Awards of Merit were presented to Yvonne Hinsley and David Tarbuck for canoeing, Wayne Tipton and Steve Mullinder for cycle speedway, and Gill Beards, Maxine Bell, Emma Bleakley, Caroline Dobson, Lin Evans, Kate Flute, Brenda France, Andrea Gittings, Debbie Owen, Hannah Reed, Lorraine Shail, Linda Thomas and Hannah Williams, all umpires for Wolverhampton City Netball League.

John Oliver was named Coach of the Year, Dave Jewkes was Volunteer of the Year and Emma Hunt was named Disabled Athlete of the Year.

The Team of the Year award went to the SAM Netball Team, while Adam Tipton was named Under 16 Volunteer of the Year. Veteran of the Year was Mary Turnbull.

Mary Harding was presented with the H E Lane OBE Memorial Trophy, while Deb Wilkes received the R V Cook Memorial Trophy.

There were also special awards for Wednesfield Aces Cycle Speedway Club and Wolverhampton City Netball League.

Mayor Councillor Brookfield presented the awards at the event in the Mayor’s Parlour on Tuesday 17 November, 2015 and said: “Our city has a proud sporting history, and I was delighted to meet so many dedicated sportsmen and women and club administrators, and reward them for their efforts.

“I was particularly pleased that so many of the award winners were the volunteers, administrators and backroom staff –without them, none of the sports would happen, so their contribution is vital and hugely appreciated.”

To find out more about the Wolverhampton City Sports Advisory Council, please contact Anona Hickin on 01902 609617 or by emailing ahickin@btinternet.com.

Pictures from the awards ceremony can be seen on Flickr at http://bit.ly/1Hcmjvi.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here