The prestigious BYSA End of Season Awards Gala took place on June 25, 2023, at the newly constructed venue, The Birmingham Hotel’s Golden Suite. The event saw an impressive turnout of over 250 attendees, including players from our competitive boys, girls, and women’s teams, devoted parents, supportive sponsors, esteemed ambassadors, dedicated volunteers, and cherished friends and family. It was an evening dedicated to commemorating our 21st year of participating in competitive league football and honouring exceptional individuals.

The event was graciously hosted by the founder, Anwar Khattak BEM, and commenced with an impassioned opening speech by Chairman Professor Paul Cadman, highlighting the remarkable progress made over the years and setting a vision for the organisation’s future. The ceremony began by acknowledging the newly-formed BYSA under 12’s team, which displayed great promise and was commended by team manager Abdul Shakur and his coaching staff, Haris Jan and Abdulrahman Shami.

The awards for the under 12’s team were presented as follows:

  • Top Scorer: Owais Azim
  • Clubman: Isa Mohamed
  • Respect Award: Harris Abbasi
  • Manager’s Player: Younis Khan
  • Player of the Season: Sahil Akhtar
  • Coach’s Player: Yosef Badr
  • Most Improved: Ihsan Iqbal

Next, the spotlight shifted to the BYSA under 16’s team, led by manager Viqas Yusaf and coaches Talha and Mohammed Daddaboy, who were recognised for their accomplishments:

  • Clubman: Mohsen Aso
  • Manager’s Player: Isaac Constantin
  • Most Improved: Mohammed Celerier
  • Coach’s Player: Kaylum Boulton
  • Respect Award: Leron Taylor
  • Player of the Year: Shakyree Waite
  • Top Goal Scorer: Liam Barrow

The newly-formed BYSA adult team, the Birmingham Women’s team, under the guidance of manager Sana Gill and coaches Khizar Sharif and Sadaf Bornaee, was acknowledged for their outstanding achievements:

  • Clubman: Britney Buchanan
  • Manager’s Player: Sadaf Bornaee
  • Most Improved: Saba Saghir
  • Coach’s Player: Aamna Ahmed
  • Respect Award: Saharr Kaid
  • Player of the Year: Simrah Abbas
  • Top Goal Scorer: Simrah Abbas

Recognising the BYSA female youth team, managed by Khizar Sharif and coached by Touria Mansour and Hafeesah Khan, the following awards were presented:

  • Clubman: Hinah Khan
  • Manager’s Player: Alaina Ali
  • Most Improved: Safah Khan
  • Coach’s Player: Rana Saleh
  • Respect Award: Mahnoor Khan
  • Player of the Year: Saira Khattak
  • Top Goal Scorer: Saira Khattak

In a heartfelt gesture, all the dedicated female youth players in the grassroots category, were awarded medals for their unwavering commitment and passion for the sport. The project leaders, Afrah Ali and Moona Ali, delivered a moving speech expressing their gratitude and emphasising the significance of the project to the youth. They also extended their appreciation to the coaches, Simrah Khan, Amira Khan, and Amina Begum, for their valuable contributions.

The night reached new heights of jubilation as the under 16’s team emerged victorious in the league cup, and the Birmingham Women’s team triumphed in the development league. These remarkable achievements were celebrated with the lifting of the winners’ trophies by the teams, acknowledging the efforts of both teams.

Finally moving on having the special awards handed out and giving recognition were it’s due to the following:- 

All the volunteers past and present;

All the current committee/trustees;

All the ambassadors;

All the youth guidance council committee; 

2 special guests for outstanding achievement on their football career journey Eesah and Adam signing academy contracts.

A special thank you to the following who made the event special from start to finish:-

Farrakh from The Birmingham Hotel (New Venue);

Manj & team from purple square audio visual DJ;

Edwin Ladd our club photographer;

Ifraz from B Events Media;

Matt from MITrophys;

Yasser/Muddasser from MKB catering. (Food/Drink)

To see all the pics from the ceremony click here:

To find out more about the organisation visit:



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here