Tipu Sultan Wins Best Restaurant Design


Awarded at the 4th Annual English Curry Awards

This week saw the 4th annual English Curry Awards at Manchester’s AJ Bell Stadium. Amongst the winners were Birmingham based restaurant, Tipu Sultan. Described as a ‘unique destination’ with a ‘very beautiful ambiance’ the nationally renowned family restaurant has delivered the very best of experience, food and décor.  


The winners’ awards were announced at a swanky affair on Monday October 13.

Over 10,000 nominations came in from all across England and the race to be crowned at this year’s awards ceremony was an extremely tight contest.


“To be amongst such passionate people who love what they do is truly inspiring. The English Curry Awards aims to recognise that dedication.” commented Yasmin Mahmood, Operations Director of event organisers Oceanic Consulting.


“It was a fantastic evening and I would like to thank everyone for attending and a big thank you to our sponsors. Congratulations to all our winner and finalists, and I hope to see you next year!”


The glam event was hosted by Sunny and Shay Grewal, the couple from the Bafta nominated Channel 4’s ‘The Family’, who currently present a show on BBC Radio London 94.9fm.


As well as recognising the curry industry in all its facets, the event also raised just over £1500 for the official charity partners The Well Foundation.

And the winners are:

Curry Lover of the Year

Winner: Adventures in Curryland

Healthy Curry Provider

Winner: Clapham Tandoori (London)

Best Marketing Campaign

Winner: Shimla Spice (Shipley)

Best Restaurant Design

Winner: Tipu Sultan (Birmingham)

Maitre D’ of the Year

Winner: Mohammed Khalid (Sheesh Mahal, Banbury)

Curry King or Queen 2014

Winner: Dipna Anand (Brilliant Restaurant, Southall)

Lifetime Achievement Award

Winner: Ahmed S Choudhury (Chairman of Channel S and owner of Rajpoot Restaurant)

New Restaurant of the Year

Winner: Khanage Indian Restaurant (London)

Caterer of the Year

Winner: Greenleaf Service (Southall)

Best of Manchester

Winner: Akbar’s

Team/Service of the Year

(nine regional winners and one overall winner)

Overall Winner: Pride of Sylhet (Dunmow)

North East Winner: New Bengal Indian Restaurant(Newcastle)

North West Winner: Maharajah Restaurant (Liverpool)

Yorkshire Winner: Hansas Gujarati Vegetarian Restaurant (Leeds)

East Midlands Winner: The Curry Fever (Leicester)

West Midlands Winner: Indigo Restaurant (Wolverhampton)

East Winner: Pride of Sylhet (Dunmow)

South East Winner: Indian Melody (Southampton)

South West Winner: Nibana (Plymouth)

London Winner: The Coriander Leaf (Ealing)

Chef of the Year

(three regional winners and one overall winner)

Overall Winner: Arvind Horo (Papa Js, Milton Keynes)

North Winner: Niom Ullah (Cutlers Spice, Sheffield)

Midlands Winner: Dev Matharoo (Flamingo Bar & Grill)

South Winner: Arvind Horo (Papa Js, Milton Keynes)

Takeaway of the Year

(nine regional winners and one overall winner)

Overall Winner: Raja Indian Cuisine (Cambridge)

North East Winner: Indian Cottage (County Durham)

North West Winner: Indian Express (Preston)

Yorkshire Winner: Medina Bismillah (Huddersfield)

East Midlands Winner: Chutney’s (Leicester)

West Midlands Winner: Lime Pickle (West Midlands)

East Winner: Raja Indian Cuisine (Cambridge)

South East Winner: Masala Bay (Kent)

South West Winner: Papa Raj (Plymouth)

London Winner: K2 Indian Takeaway (Wimbledon)

Restaurant of the Year

(Nine regional winners and one overall winner)

Overall Winner: Akbar’s (Newcastle)

North East Winner: Akbar’s (Newcastle)

North West Winner: Bollywood Masala Restaurant (Manchester)

Yorkshire Winner: Aakash Restaurant (Bradford)

East Midlands Winner: Haveli Fine Dining Restaurant (Nottingham)

West Midlands Winner: Pabna (Leek)

East Winner: Rang Mohol (Cambridge)

South East Winner: Jai Ho (Surrey)

South West Winner: Rajpoot (Bath)

London Winner: Chak 89


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here