We at The Asian Today are very honoured and humbled to have won best publication at the UK Bhangra Awards for the second time. We won at the inaugural Bhangra Awards in 2014. The Asian Today was created in 2002 to inform, educate and enlighten the South-Asian community.
We have established a loyal and extensive readership through which we have cemented an important position within the community, the publication has gone from strength to strength and has strived to keep up with being a community based newspaper. A great way to celebrate our 16th year as an award winning publication. We would like to thank all our supporters, our team and above all our readers. 


After the smash hit UK Bhangra Awards 2014-2017, Culture Unite & Lyca Radio presented UK Bhangra Awards 2018 on Saturday 10th November in the luxurious Regency Banqueting Suite, Birmingham. This prestigious red carpet event celebrating its 5th anniversary included 24 awards, live performances, dinner and dance. The event was superbly hosted by Boy Chana, Pam Sidhu, Apna Bhajan Jagpal and Chandni Kahn.
There were breathtaking live performances by the Balwinder Bhatti Band, 2 Tricky Project Band, Haripa Dancers, Dhol Frequency, Inderjit London, Biba Singh, Jin & Seetal, Shubhra Bhambra, Jassi Premi, Dara Kandola, Nesdi Jones, Khushi Kaur, Shin Cobra, Asha Jassal, Royal Keys Pianist, Emily Marina Violinist, Ravneet Kaur, Sohan & Aruna Kailey     
A full venue attendance was made up of Bhangra industry fraternity, VIP’s and general public. Bhangra fans from all communities were united and delighted at the grand ceremony. This tremendous showcase unveiled the best artistic talent within the nation and beyond. All recipients of the stunning crystal trophy were truly honored, knowing they had received probably the highest accolade in the industry and joined an elite list of winners at the world’s only Bhangra Awards event.
CEO of Culture Unite Mr. Bobby Bola was quoted as saying “The team at UK Bhangra Awards thank everyone that has made the event a huge success in promoting Bhangra, Culture & Unity”.


(1) BEST PUBLICATION – The Asian Today
(2) BEST WEBSITE – DesiBlitz.com
(3) BEST RADIO PRESENTER – Shandy Kambo 
(4) BEST TV PRESENTER – Mohanjit Basra
(5) BEST DJ ROADSHOW – Higher Class DJ’s 
(6) BEST DHOL ARTIST – Ministry of Dhol      
(7) BEST DANCE GROUP – Haripa Dancers
(8) BEST MELA – Glasgow Mela
(9) BEST SONGWRITER – Gurpreet Virk (GV)
(11) BEST MUSICIAN – Gubzy Lackhanpal
(12) BEST BAND – Brotherhood Group
(13) BEST RECORD LABEL – Hi-Tech Music
(14) BEST VIDEO PRODUCER – Sunny Dhinsey Filmlore
(15) BEST MUSIC VIDEO – Subaig S. Kandola ft Desi Routz – She Dances
(16) BEST SINGLE – Jaz Dhami ft V Rakx – Aitvaar      
(17) BEST ALBUM – Jaz Dhami – Pieces of Me
(18) BEST NEWCOMER – Dev Nahar & Khushi Kaur 
(19) BEST FEMALE SINGER – Seetal Kaur
(20) BEST MALE SINGER – Subaig S. Kandola
(23) SPECIAL CONTRIBUTION AWARD – Harminder Berman & Jassi Premi
(24) LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD – Jandu Littranwala  



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here