16th Asian Achiever Awards Finalists Announced!



London, UK – The nominations for the 16th annual Asian Achievers Awards have been unveiled. They include, stand-up comedian Romesh Ranganathan; Paralympian Ryan Raghoo; Captain Naveed Muhammad MBE British Army; the charity Khalsa Aid; Barrister Jo Sidhu QC; entrepreneur Samir Desai, Co-Founder of Funding Circle; Manjit Wolstenholme from Provident Financial PLC and international restaurateur Arjun Waney of Robata Restaurants ltd.


Mr. CB Patel, Publisher/Editor, ABPL Group says: “The mission of the Asian Achievers Awards is twofold – to both recognise and reward genuine high achievers in the Asian community. It’s humbling how the community holds our Awards in such high esteem, and this is reflected in the overwhelming number and quality of nominations we once again received this year. I certainly don’t envy the daunting task our esteemed judges have in shortlisting the nominees and selecting winners.”


This year, the Chair of Judges is Nishma Robb, Head of Marketing, Google UK & Ireland. She said, “The Asian Achievers Awards are widely respected across the business, arts, and social communities, because of the robust and very fair judging process, and the calibre of the judging panel. I was very impressed with the quality of the nominations for the awards. It is an incredible accomplishment to be recognised as a finalist, and those shortlisted this year really are raising the bar of achievement again.”


Taking place on September 16th at London’s Grosvenor House Hotel, the Asian Achievers Awards celebrates the outstanding work of South Asian individuals from across a spectrum of backgrounds and professions. This year’s theme is Professional Of the Year, for the outstanding achievement in Professions.


Since launching, The Asian Achievers Awards has helped to raise millions of pounds for various charities and this year, the chosen charity partner is the Indian Ocean Disaster Relief (IODR), which supports education and victims of human trafficking in Nepal. The Asian Achievers Awards is also proud to have Sunrise Radio and Colors TV on board as Media Partners.



Business Person Of The Year


Dr Nikesh Kotecha – Director at Morningside Pharmaceutical Rakesh Sharma – Chief Executive, Ultra Electronics Harish Sodha – Executive Chairman, Diversity Travel

Arjun Waney – Chairman, Robata Restaurants ltd



Entrepreneur Of The Year


Reshma Sohoni – Partner & Co-Founder, Seedcamp

Samir Desai CBE – Co-Founder and Director at Funding Circle

Harnoop Singh Atkar – CEO at Oakland Primecare

Selva Pankaj – CEO, Regent Group


Sports Personality Of The Year


Harleen Kaur – Martial Arts

Daanyal Spalding – Golfer

Ryan Raghoo – Paralympic long-jumper

Myra Nasim – National Karate Champion



Uniformed And Civil Services


Mabs Hussain – Chief Superintendent District Commander, West Yorkshire Police

PC Karmjit Rekhi MBE – Faith Officer, Metropolitan Police Service

Captain Naveed Muhammad MBE – Chair of Armed Forces Muslim Association (AFMA)

Lt Col Bilal Muhammad Siddique – Adjutant General’s Corps



Media, Arts And Culture


Janan Ganesh – Political Columnist, The Financial Times

Romesh Ranganathan – Stand-up Comedian

Irvine Iqbal – Actor

The Singh Twins – Rabindra & Amrit Kaur Singh



Woman Of The Year


Joysy John – Ada, National College for Digital Skills

Manjit K Gill – Binti International

Rupal Kantaria – Oliver Wyman

Manjit Wolstenholme – Provident Financial PLC


Achievement In Community Service


Professor Meena Upadhyaya OBE – Medical geneticist at Cardiff University

Khalsa Aid – An international relief work organisation to assist victims in disaster situations

Zlakha Ahmed MBE – Founder and Manager of Apna Haq

Prem Goyal OBE – CEO, Global Marketing Consultants



Professional Of The Year


Chitra Bharucha MBE  – Director, Fit Biotech

Leena Nair – Chief HR Officer of Unilever

Nina Bhatia – Managing Director, British Gas Connected Homes

Jo Sidhu QC – Barrister, President Society of Asian Lawyers, Bencher of Lincolns Inn




For all the latest news, follow us on:

Twitter:  @ABPL_GROUP Instagram: @AsianAchieversAwards Facebook: Asian Achievers Awards


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here