British Muslim Awards 2015 – Nomination List


27th of January 2015

After receiving thousands of nominations from all over the country, the finalists for the British Muslim Awards presented by Al Rayan Bank, formerly known as Islamic Bank of Britain (IBB), have been announced.


The awards will recognise a wide range of achievements which cover various aspects of society including business, charity, sport, arts and culture and much more. The evening will be one of celebration, reflecting upon the significant role that Britain’s Muslims have in society.


Over 400 people will attend the glittering ceremony, which takes place at the Chateau Impney Hotel, Worcestershire on Tuesday, January 27.


Commenting on the nominations, Sultan Choudhury, Chief Executive Officer, Al Rayan Bank, said, “The British Muslim Awards provide an ideal platform for Muslims throughout the United Kingdom to showcase their achievements.  Today’s announcement boasts an impressive list of finalists and provides recognition to a wide range of individuals and organisations for their outstanding contribution to their sector.  Al Rayan Bank is proud to support the event.”


Irfan Younis, CEO at event organisers Oceanic Consulting, said “The Muslim community has been making huge contributions to a better United Kingdom and these awards are a reflection of some of the work that goes unrecognised.


There are some truly inspirational individuals, businesses and organisations in all of our categories, and we would like to congratulate all of the finalists who continuously thrive to excel, making worthy contenders.”


There are twenty two awards to be presented on the night and the finalists are:


Muslim in the Community

Muslim Women’s Network (Birmingham)

Mile End Community Project (London)

Ali Khan (Roshni, Glasgow)

Noori Bibi (Jawaab, London)

Adill Hadi (Birmingham City Council, Birmingham)

Muslim Women’s Council (Bradford)

Better Community Business Network (London)


Arts & Cultural Awareness

Tabinda Kauser Ishaq (London College of Fashion, London)

Samuir Rahman (House of Calligraphy, London)

Shahida Rahman (Perfect Publishers, Cambridge)

Abdullah Shariff (Spoken Word Poet, Yarlet)

Milton Keynes Islamic Arts & Culture (Milton Keynes)

Sisters Magazine (London)

Waseem M Aslam (Author, Newcastle)


Charity of the Year

Penny Appeal (Wakefield)

Orphans in Need (London)

Lady Fatimah Trust (Buckinghamshire)

Islamic Relief (London)

Nour Domestic Violence (London)

Human Appeal (Manchester)

Islamic Help (Birmingham)


Responsible Media of the Year

Muslims News (Harrow)

Noor TV (Birmingham)

Islam Channel (London)

Peace TV (London)

British Muslim TV (Wakefield, Yorkshire)

Channel 4 (London)

Huffington Post (London)


Civil/Third Sector Servant of the Year

Saleh Saeed (DEC, London)

Yasmin Shabir (HMRC, West Yorkshire)

Salim Sidat MBE (Blackburn with Darwen Borough Council, Blackburn)

Hasan Bakhshi (Nesta, London)

Syed Mizan Rahman (Cabinet Office, London)

Salim Mitha (HMRC, Liverpool)

Wasim Mir (Foreign & Commonwealth Office, London)


Best at Sport

Qasim Niaz (Blackburn)

Ambreen Sadiq (Yorkshire)

Moeen Ali (Worcestershire)

Samera Ashraf (Edinburgh)

Haseeb Hameed (Lancashire)

Ateeq Javid (Warwickshire)

Ali Al Hasbi (Wigan)


Noor Inayat Khan Memorial Award for Muslim Woman of the Year

Amirah Foundation (Birmingham)

Amenakin (Leicester)

Myira Khan (Leicester)

Baroness Sayeeda Warsi (Wakefield)

Mehmuda Mian (Windsor)

Rimla Akhtar (London)


Services to Finance & Accounting

Moorad Choudhry (RBS, London)

Nadeem Ahmed (Hentons, Leeds)

Mohammed Khan (PWC, London)

Gaffar Khalid (London)

Islamic Finance Council (London)

Faizal Karbani (Simply Sharia, Middlesex)

Mohamed Iqbal Asaria (Afkar Consulting Ltd, London)


Dr. Abbas Khan Memorial Award for Services to Medicine

Professor Alimudin Zumla (London)

Dr Syed Nayyer Abidi (Manchester)

Dr Mohammad Saqib Anwar (Leicester)

Dean Dentists (Surrey)

Dr Mohammed Jawad (London)

Dr Nadia Khalid (London)

Professor Aziz Sheikh (Edinburgh)


Services to Media

Yasmin Khatun (Islam Channel, London)

Sameena Ali Khan (ITV Central, Birmingham)

Noreen Khan (BBC Asian Network, Birmingham)

Faisal Islam (Sky, London)

Mishal Husain (BBC, London)

Nina Hossain (ITV, London)

Rageh Omaar (ITV, London)


Services to Education

Al Isharah (London)

Shaykh Abdal Hakim Murad Dean (Cambridge Muslim College, Cambridge)

Shahed Ahmed Battiwala (Elmhurst Primary, London)

Sofina Aktar Motin Islam (Stanton Bridge, Coventry)

Zaidah Ahmed (Rotherham Borough Council, Rotherham)

Professor Iram Siraj (University of London, London)

Ashfaq Chowdhury (Association of Muslim Schools, Birmingham)


Services to Science & Engineering

Hamid Ghafur Mughal (Cambridge)

Jawed Siddiqui (Sheffield)

Saeed Vaseghi (Uxbridge)

Muslim Engineers Network (UK)

Ehsan Masood (London)

Zaha Hadid (London)

Farid Khan (Manchester)


Services to Law

Tariq Sadiq (St Philips Chambers, Birmingham)

Forz Khan (The Chambers of F Khan, London)

Atif Hanif (Allen Overy, London)

Farmida Bi (Norton Rose Fulbright, London)

Badr Al-Hasan (Dome Advisory, London)

Bilkis Mahmood (Blackstone Law, Leeds)

Shehneela Ahmed (Platinum FA, London)


Services Creativity & Technology

Air 21 (Birmingham)

Muslim & Single (London)

Remit One (London)

Book Friends Forever (Cardiff)

Hussain Architectural Design (Burnley)

Uzma Asghar (Success Coach & Trainer, Birmingham)

Sabirul Islam (Inspire1million, Stratford)


Religious Advocate of the Year

Imam Asim Hafiz (UK Ministry of Defence, London)

Hamza Andreas Tzortzis (London)

Qari Mohammed Asim (Leeds Makkah Mosque, Leeds)

Imam Shahid Raza (Leicester Central Mosque, Leicester)

Molana Rayan Mahmud (Iqra TV, London)

Imam Irfan Chisti (Light of Islam Academy, Rochdale)

Qari Noman Yousef (Harem Academy, Coventry)


Young Achiever of the Year

Aysha Boshor (Aysha Academy Trust, Bedfordshire)

Ayan Qureshi (Youngest Microsoft Certified Professional, Birmingham)

Zain Awan (Creative Consultant, London)

Enaam Ahmed (Enaam Motor Sport, London)

Shahid Khan (Naughty Boy, Watford)

Hamzah Hafesji (Islamic Help, Birmingham)

Sara Khan (Inspire, Bradford)


Politician of the Year

Mohammed Asghar (South Wales)

Khalid Mahmood (Birmingham)

Yasmin Qureshi (Bolton)

Sajid Javid (Bromsgrove)

Sadiq Khan (Tooting)

Sajjad Karim (Blackburn)

Amjad Bashir (Yorkshire)


Businesswoman of the Year

Farzana Baduel (Curzon PR, London)

Henna Riaz (360 Royalty Audit, Manchester)

Nabila Sadiq (Marlin Hawk, London)

Pinky Lilani (Spice Magic, London)

Shaheen Unis (Mrs Unis, Edinburgh)

Ruzwana Bashir (, Rochdale)

Saira Khan (TV Personality, London)


Businessman of the Year

Asif Aziz (Criterion Capital, London)

Iqbal Ahmed (Seamark, Manchester)

Aref Karim (Quality Capital Management, London)

Saleem Asaria (Cambian Group, UK)

James Caan (Entrepreneur, London)

Shahid Azeem (Arcom IT,Surrey)

Farouq Sheikh (CareTech Holdings Plc, Hertfordshire)


Entrepreneur of the Year

Shazia Saleem (IEat Foods, London)

Syed Ahmed (SAVORTEX, London)

Shade 7 Publishing (London)

Noman Khawaja (Twickenham)

Ammar Mirza (ABC, Newcastle)

Zaynab Mirza (ZaynaB, London)

Nazia Nasreen (Ibraheem Toy House, Birmingham)


Business of the Year

CK Foods (Hull)

Tubzee (Halifax)

Quiz Clothing (Glasgow)

Karali LTD (Burger King, London)

Euro Quality Lambs (Shropshire)

KCB Bakeries (Bradford)

Haji Baba (Hounslow, London)


Spirit of Britain

Anas Sarwar (MP, Glasgow)

Mosaic Network (London)

Active Change Foundation (London)

Waqar Azmi (Waterhouse Consulting Group, Birmingham)         

Shavanah Taj (PCS Wales Secretary, Cardiff)

Sughra Ahmed (Islamic Society of Britain, Cambridge)

Mirza Waqas Ahmad (Ahmadiyya Muslim Youth Association, London)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here