Asian Community Recognised in Honours List


Announced in Annual Queen’s Birthday List

The Queen’s Birthday Honours List has been released with a number of prolific South Asian members of the community being honoured on the list:-

This year’s list includes members from all backgrounds and regions. They include:-


Muhammad Ayyub, For services to Asian Music in the UK. (Birmingham, West Midlands)

Anjan Kumar Banerjee, Deputy managing director Pope Woodhead Associates, and Honorary consultant Surgeon, Bedford Hospital, NHS Trust. For services to Patient Safety. (Peterborough, Cambridgeshire)

Mrs Sarah Khan Bashir, For services to the community in Bradford, West Yorkshire. (Bradford, West Yorkshire)

Amrik Singh Bhabra, Chief executive ADECS and president, Coventry and Warwickshire Chamber of Commerce. For services to Business and the community. (Coventry, West Midlands)

Dr Kumarendra Das, Associate Specialist in Trauma and Orthopaedics Friarage Hospital, North Yorkshire. For services to Trauma and Orthopaedic Surgery. (Northallerton, North Yorkshire)

Mrs Jaya Chakrabarti Gallemore, Founder and chief executive Officer, Nameless. For services to the Creative and Digital Industries and to the community in Bristol. (Bristol)

Majid Hussain, Executive director Accrol Papers. For services to Business and the community in the North West of England. (Accrington, Lancashire)

Javid Ibrahim Isap, Assistant Officer Benefits and Credits, Security and Information Management Team, Preston, HM Revenue and Customs. For public and voluntary service. (Preston, Lancashire)

Dr Mohammed Jiva, General Practitioner Rochdale. For services to General Practice. (Bacup, Lancashire)

Amrit Paul Kaushal, Vice-president Association of Indian Organisations. For services to Community Cohesion in the West of Scotland. (Giffnock, Glasgow)

Rajen Odedra, Prison Officer HMPrison Belmarsh. For services to HM Prison Service and the community in Essex. (London)

Dr Jitendra Chottabhai Patel, Cardiologist Aberdeen Royal Infirmary. For services to Healthcare. (Banchory, Aberdeenshire)

Ms Aisha Rashida Rehman, Operational Team Leader National Security Unit, Office for Security and Counter-Terrorism, Home Office. For services to Public Protection. (London)

Hajeet Seeboruth, Fingerprint Services manager Metropolitan Police Service. For services to Fingerprint Examination. (London)

Milan Shah, Director Varani Food Products Ltd and Chair, Board of Governors, University of Northampton. For services to Business and the community in the East Midlands. (London)


Mrs Sunita Dinesh Mason, For services to Public Protection.

Ammar Yusuf Mirza, Managing director AmmarM and Co-Founder, Asian Business Connexions. For services to Business and the community in the North East.

Salim Mitha, Deputy Director Policy Specialist, London, H.M Revenue and Customs. For services to Tax Policy Work.

Mrs Nosheena Mobarik, OBE, Chair, CBI Scotland. For services to Business and public service in Scotland.



Talvinder Singh Matharoo, Tabla Player Producer and Composer. For services to Music.

Ms Sharmila Nebhrajani, Chief executive Association of Medical Research Charities. For services to Medical Research.

Mrs Kavita Oberoi, Founder and managing director, Oberoi Consulting Ltd. For services to Entrepreneurship and Start Up Businesses.

Anupam Ojha, Director National Space Academy. For services to Science Education.

Faisel Rahman, Founder and managing director Fair Finance. For services to Community Finance.

Professor Aziz Sheikh, Professor of Primary Care Research and Development University of Edinburgh. For services to Medicine.

Mrs Trishna Devi Pall Singh, Director, Sikh Sanjog. For services to the community in Edinburgh, particularly to the Sikh community.

Ms Shahien Taj, MBE, Executive director Henna Foundation. For services to Victims of Honour-Based Violence and Forced Marriage.

Mrs Nisha Tandon, Chief executive, ArtsEkta. For services to Minority Ethnic communities in Northern Ireland.


Gurcharan Singh Chatwal, For services to the community in the London Borough of Hounslow. (London)

Anwar Khattak, Founder Birmingham Youth Sport Academy. For voluntary service to Community Sport. (Birmingham, West Midlands)

Yasvender Singh Rehill, Police Constable West Yorkshire Police. For services to Policing and Community Engagement in Bradford.

(Bradford, West Yorkshire)

Abu Zafar, Founder and Owner Orient Press. For services to Business and to the Asian community in Bradford. (Bradford, West Yorkshire)

Mrs Habiban Nisa Zaman, For services to Women in North Kirklees, West Yorkshire. (Dewsbury, West Yorkshire)


Professor Tejinder Singh Virdee, Professor of Physics Imperial College, London. For services to science.

Wasim Mir, Head Projects Task Force, Foreign and Commonwealth Office. For services to new and innovative ways of working and diversity in the Foreign and Commonwealth Office.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here