The 19th annual Asian Achievers Awards returns on Friday 6th September, in a glittering ceremony at the Grosvenor House Hotel on London’s Park Lane. Highlighting the incredible achievements of South Asians in the UK, this year’s nominees include, footballer Yan Dhanda; BBC News Economics Editor, Faisal Islam; Amit Gudka, Co-Founder of Bulb Energy; England cricketer, Adil Rashid; human rights activist, Mandy Sanghera; Director of Communications for Pride London, Asad Dhunna; and star of Netflix’s Chef’s Table, Asma Khan.

Actor, Nitin Ganatra will be joined by Nisha Parmar, semi-finalist of BBC’s Masterchef UK to host the event, which this year brings to light the theme of ‘Inclusivity’, underlining the importance of pride, tolerance and the rich cultural diversity amongst all ethnic communities and groups of people.

Mr. CB Patel, Publisher/Editor, ABPL Group says:“The shortlisted candidates of this year’s Asian Achievers Awards represent the spirit of multiculturalism and equality. They truly encompass our theme of ‘Inclusivity’ with their progressive beliefs and outstanding accomplishments that are having a significant impact on the way we view our community and the world. It gives us great pride to showcase their achievements.”

Since launching, The Asian Achievers Awards has helped to raise millions of pounds for various charities. This year, the chosen charity partner is Yuva Unstoppable, a youth movement in India that works towards educating underprivileged children. The organisation is spread across 30 cities and consists of nearly 100,000 volunteers.

The Asian Achievers Awards sponsors include EY, Starling Bankand Edwardian Hotels, with Colors TV on board as Media Partner.


Business Person Of The Year

Neeraj Kanwar– Vice Chairman & Managing Director of Apollo Tyres

Rooney Anand– Chairman of Casual Dining Group

Vipul Vadera– CEO of Per-Scent

Lord Waheed Alli– Fashion entrepreneur, former media tycoon, gay rights activist and Peer


Entrepreneur Of The Year

Kush Kanodia– AbilityNet Trustee

Herman Narula– Co-Founder and CEO of Improbable Worlds Limited

Amit Gudka– Co-Founder at Bulb Energy

Bankim Chandra– CEO Dotsquares


Woman Of The Year

Anjali Ramachandran– Director, Storythings

Ishani Patel– Co-Founder Lantum

Neeta Patel–  Chief Executive, New Entrepreneurs Foundation

Asma Khan– first British Chef to star in Netflix’s award-winning series Chef’s Table


Professional Of The Year

Asad Dhunna– Director of Communications for Pride in London and Founder of The Unmistakables

Professor Dinesh Bhugra CBE– Emeritus Professor of Mental Health and Cultural Diversity

Krishna Omkar– corporate lawyer and LGBTQ activist

Prof Charanjit Bountra– Pro-Vice Chancellor for Innovation and Professor of Translational Medicine at the University of Oxford


Uniformed, Civil and Public Services

Ranjit Lal Dheer OBE– Councillor, Dormers Wells, Cabinet member for Community Safety and Services and Deputy Leader of the Council

Hafsa Qureshi– recruitment support for Her Majesty’s Courts and Tribunals Service

Dr Rohit Shankar MBE, FRCPsych– Consultant Developmental Neuropsychiatrist and clinical director for the adult Intellectual Disability Neuropsychiatry services for Cornwall Partnership NHS Foundation Trust

Dr Rangan Chatterjee– physician, author, television presenter and podcaster


Sports Personality Of The Year

Adil Rashid– England Cricketer

Yan Dhanda– Footballer, Swansea City

Kabir Ali– former cricketer

Harjeet Singh Bhania OBE– GB Men’s wheelchair basketball Head Coach


Achievement In Media Arts & Culture

Mukul Devichand– Executive Editor of Voice + AI at the BBC

Asifa Lahore– Britain’s first Muslim drag performer

Raheem Mir– Kathak dancer challenging the concept of gender roles within Kathak

Faisal Islam– Economics Editor of BBC News


Achievement In Community Service

Neelam Farzana MBE– Counsellor

Onkardeep Bhatia– Founding member of City Sikhs Network

Mandy Sanghera– International human rights activist and motivational Tedx speaker

Naeem Rabbani Qureshi– Trustee of Ashiana Community Project



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here