Midlanders Light up AMA’s


DesiBlitz and Asian Network Among Winners

In an inspiring night for the Asian media industry, the Midlands celebrated its talent as it picked up four awards.

The star-studded ceremony hosted by Sky News presenter Jannat Jalil took place at the Hilton Manchester Deansgate.

Birmingham-based DesiBlitz.com picked-up their second AMA for Best Website in two years after it was named Best Website. Popular daytime radio-host, Noreen Khan was named  Best  Radio Show whilst the BBC Asian Network picked-up their third consecutive AMA in the Radio Station of the Year category.

Fellow Midlanders Leicester City Council were names Best Event Award with their annual Diwali Lights Switch-on event. 

Ranvir Singh was named as the Media Personality of the Year 2015. In 2015 she has been seen on ITN News as well as Good Morning Britain and also fronted a number of investigation pieces tackling issues ranging from the refugee crisis to drink driving.

Celebrated actor Roshan Seth was honoured with the Sophiya Haque Services to British Television and Film Award.

The Asian Media Awards Best Investigation category in 2015 featured ground-breaking work tackling controversial subject matters from across the globe. The recipient of the 2015 award was Leslee Udwin’s film ‘India’s Daughter.’  

BBC Current Affairs Editor Kavita Puri was presented with the Journalist of the Year award.

The highly contested University of Salford Outstanding Young Journalist of the Year award was won by Siraj Datoo, Political Reporter with the website Buzzfeed.

ITV Meridian’s Sangeeta Bhabra was named Regional Journalist of the Year. ‘Slave Wives’ a report by BBC Newsnight won the TV  Report of the Year  2015 award.

Anita  Anand was  named  Radio Presenter of the Year. Media Moguls and Star Plus also picked-up their third AMA in their respective categories.

Sabras Radio who celebrated their 20th anniversary in 2015 was named Regional Radio Station of the Year. Natasha Mudhar beat-off strong competition to win the Media Professional of the Year accolade.

Asad Shan was  named TV Presenter  of the Year and Desi Rascals  named  Best TV Show. Rakhee Thakrar’s portrayal of Shabnam Masood in Eastenders saw  her presented with the Best TV Character Award.

Live stage productions featured as a new category in this year’s awards, with Bend It Like Beckham, The Musical, winning the new accolade.

Leeds based newspaper Asian Express won the Publication of the Year  Award. In the Online section Amena  Beauty, known more  commonly as Pearl Daisy. Parle Patel was presented with the Best Video Channel Award for Planet Parle.

Director Waris Hussein presented the Outstanding Contribution to Media Award to former BBC producer Tara Prem. It came on a night as  the awards also celebrated 50 years of Asian programming on the BBC.

The evening also saw an emotional tribute, read by Amrit Matharu, to Punjab2000 founder, Tony Singh Pabla, who died earlier this year.  



Publication of the Year: Asian Express

Best Blog: Amena Beauty

Best Website: DesiBlitz.com

Best Video Channel: Planet Parle

Best Live Event: Diwali Lights-on Leicester

Best Stage Production: Bend It Like Beckham: The Musical

Media Professional of the Year: Natasha Mudhar

Media Agency of the Year: Media Moguls

TV Report of the Year: Slave Wives (BBC Newsnight)

Best TV Show: Desi Rascals

Best TV Character Rakhee Thakrar (Shabnam Masood)

TV Channel of the Year Star Plus

TV Presenter of the Year: Asad Shan

Regional Radio Station of the Year: Sabras Radio

Best Radio Show: Noreen Khan

Radio Station of the Year: BBC Asian Network

Radio Presenter of the Year: Anita Anand

Outstanding Young Journalist: Siraj Datoo (Buzzfeed)

Regional Journalist of the Year: Sangeeta Bhabra

Best Investigation: India’s Daughter

Journalist of the Year: Kavita Puri

Sophiya Haque Services to British Television & Film: Roshan Seth

Media Personality of the Year 2015: Ranvir Singh

Outstanding Contribution to Media: Tara Prem



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here