Record Asian MP’s in Parliament


Election Sees Conservative Majority

A record number of South Asian Member of Parliament’s (MP’s) have been elected to the House of Commons. With a majority Conservative government, David Cameron looks set to stay as the next Prime Minister.


On a shocking night, exit polls gave the Tories a lead of 316. The results of the 2015 General Election saw Deputy Prime Minister, Nick Clegg, and UKIP leader, Nigel Farage, resign.


Asian MP’s are as follows:-


Sadiq Khan – Tooting (Labour)


Rishi Sunak – Richmond (Yorkshire)


Keith Vaz – Leicester East (Labour)


Valerie Vaz – Walsall South (Labour)


Alok Sharma – Reading West (Conservative)


Sajid Javid – Bromsgrove (Conservative)


Priti Patel – Witham (Conservative)


Rupa Huq – Ealing Central and Acton (Labour)


Rehman Chishti – Gillingham and Rainham (Conservative)


Naseem Shah – Bradford West (Labour)


Shailesh Vara – Cambridgeshire North West (Conservative)


Tulip Siddiq – Hampstead and Kilburn (Labour)


Tasmina Ahmed-Sheikh – Ochil and South Pershire (SNP)


Virendra Sharma – Ealing Southall (Labour)


Seema Malhotra – Feltham and Heston – (Labour)


Lisa Nandy – Wigan – (Labour)


Yasmin Qureshi – Bolton South East (Labour)


Shabana Mahmood – Birmingham Ladywood (Labour)


Khalid Mahmood – Birmingham Perry Barr (Labour)


Rushanara Ali – Bethnal Green and Bow (Labour)


Ranil Jayawardena – Hampshire North East (Conservative)


Imran Hussain – Bradford East (Labour)


Nusrat Ghani – Wealden (Conservative)


Seema Kennedy – South Ribble (Conservative)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here